zucchini leek soup

Zucchini Leek Soup

When I was little I remember cringing at the thought of soup, especially green ones. I can still recall how I felt (the feeling was fear by the way) whenever I saw my mother making soup, I knew it meant many several minutes (that to me felt like hours) sitting at the kitchen diner table playing the game of who has more patience, it would typically end with mom or dad getting me to at least try it but no more than that. Thankfully I’ve grown out of it and am now slightly obsessed with soups, so expect more on soup recipes in the months to come.

Recently my mother has taken into the habit of making vegetable cream soups twice or thrice a week, she usually alternates between a zucchini based or squash based soup (and perks it up with some other vegetable or spice). What’s great about these soups is that they require minimal effort and yet have such a velvety taste, they’re as good cold as they are room temperature or warm and they travel well which means they’re perfect to pack for lunch. Today I’m bringing you what we’ve deemed the best zucchini soup so far, we recently discovered it when varying the “perk” veg I mentioned.

One of my favourite things about this soup is it’s bright green color which is the result of using light green skin zucchinis. Here in Venezuela we don’t have dark green zucchinis. I always thought we were so unlucky to only have the light ones, whenever I saw recipes with those gorgeous dark green zucchinis I would almost feel jealous; I’ve partly gotten over it thanks to my amorousness towards this soup.

I asked my mother for the source of the recipe, however, the most she recalls is reading a similar recipe in an Italian cooking magazines during the 80s. She did mention that the recipe in the magazine called for a couple of carrots. (We’ve made zucchini soup with carrots previously and it also turns out great, it does change the taste slightly, and the color is much warmer and less bright. Still delicious nonetheless.)

zucchini leek soup

Recipe notes:

  • The zucchinis used for this soup are small tender zucchinis with a light green skin, very similar to these.
  • You can either leave the zucchinis whole or peel them like my mother does. Personally I prefer to scrape them with a small serrated knife in order to get rid of the damaged parts, however, if you’re using zucchinis with tough skin I would encourage you to peel them in order to achieve a smoother texture.
  • At home we typically make this soup with either vegetable or chicken broth (it’s ok if it’s store bought). Since we make this soup more often than we make broth, we typically use water and drop a chicken or vegetable bouillon cube in the pot.
Zucchini Leek Soup

Mom’s recipe. Adapted from an 80’s Italian cooking magazine.

Serves 6
Ingredients
  • 30g salted butter
  • 1 large leek
  • 1kg zucchinis
  • (see recipe notes above)
  • 750ml broth or water
  • (see recipe notes above)
  • salt and pepper
zucchini leek soup
  1. Cut the ends off the leeks, quarter them lengthwise, wash them under running water (make sure to get all the dirt out) and cut into 1cm pieces.
  2. Clean the zucchinis (see recipe notes above), quarter them lengthwise and cut into about 1cm slices.
  3. Place a big pot on high heat and add the butter. Once the butter has melted and starts to bubble, add in the leeks and cook for a few minutes until they’re fragrant.
  4. Add the zucchinis to the pot, give it a stir and cover the pot for about 5 minutes to let the zucchinis sweat.
  5. Add the broth or water, mix well and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and let simmer for 20-25 minutes (or until the zucchinis are tender).
  6. Remove the pot from the burner and let it cool down. Season with salt and pepper if you wish. Pulse until smooth using an immersion blender.
Leave a Reply

