Rainbow Cake

 

I still remember the first day I saw a real rainbow, it was in New Jersey while eating with my mom, I was 4 years old then. After that, I’ve always had this fixation with rainbows, I try to get my hands on anything that has numerous colors — that probably explains my huge collection of Lisa Frank folders, notebooks, stickers, sand art…

I was suppose to go to the dentist yesterday in the afternoon, but there was so much traffic and I just really didn’t feel like going — my laziness yesterday won me an appointment for today at 1:30 pm –. So when I got home after lunch, having no plans for Friday night (how inappropriate for someone of my age), I decided to pursue this project that’s been on my to do list for over a year now.

This was almost an Odyssey to complete in one night, I’ve never done a layer cake before (need I mention it was a 6 layer cake), and my mum usually gets very annoyed when I suddenly start baking in the middle of the afternoon, so she was yelling all night which made me sad, making it much harder to finish. Luckily, when my mom got a look at the final product, she smiled.

It’s actually a very visually striking cake (my family and I agreed it looked like a giant snowball on the outside, but nothing compares to the looks on their faces when they saw the inside). Unfortunately I can’t say the same about the taste, I tried modifying the recipe a bit — as in cutting the sugar by half, I do this in every recipe for baked goods — and the cake turned out tasting like salt and baking soda. The only thing that kind of keeps it together is the cream cheese frosting, my sisters ended up eating the outside of the cake only (because it tasted better of course).

Rainbow cake
Adapted from 17 and baking
You’ll have to make this recipe twice

2 1/4 c cake flour
1 tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/4 c whole milk
2 eggs
1/2 c of sugar (I’ll be using 3/4 c next time)
2 tsp grated lemon zest
100g of butter, softened
1/2 tsp pure lemon extract
Gel food coloring

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and put a rack in the middle or upper third of the oven. Butter and flour three round pans.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. In another bowl, whisk together the eggs and whole milk.

Cream the butter, zest, and sugar in a mixer on medium speed for a full 3 minutes until very light and fluffy. Beat in the lemon extract, then add 1/3 of the flour mixture, still on medium speed.

Beat in half of the egg-buttermilk mixture, then half of the remaining flour mixture, then the last of the egg-buttermilk mixture, and finally the last of the flour, beating until the batter is smooth. Beat the entire batter on medium high for two minutes until completely smooth and mixed.

Divide the batter in three. Dye each batter a different color of the rainbow and scrape into the three pans. Bake 12 minutes, rotating halfway through, or until a thin knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool in the pans five minutes, then turn out onto a cooling rack.

 

Cream Cheese Frosting
Adapted from 17 and baking

450g of cream cheese
60g of butter, softened
6 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 c of powdered sugar

Beat the cream cheese, butter, and extract together until combined. Gradually beat in the powdered sugar until the desired consistency is reached.

 

Assembling the cake: Set the purple layer on top of a round plate, spread a thin layer of apricot jelly and a thin layer of cream cheese frosting. Top with the blue layer, spread some apricot jelly and cream cheese frosting. Repeat with the remaining layers. Cover the entire cake with the rest of the frosting and use a sifter to spread the shredded coconut evenly on top of the cake. Keep refrigerated.


3 responses to “Rainbow Cake

  1. WOW !!
    this is what I call a really amazing cake !!!

    wondefrul Job ! well done ! :)

  2. OMG!
    my screen is damaged??, or that cake has so many colors…..o.O
    looks like something out of “Alice in Wonderland”……hahaha

    Felicidades Valeria!! ;)

  3. Hey…..we need a new post!!!! XD

Leave a Reply

